Author Topic: Dimensions of Mazda 6 GH (Bose) 2 DIN head unit?  (Read 606 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vitesse

  • TS2 Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Colour: Aurora Blue (34J) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.5L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2008
Dimensions of Mazda 6 GH (Bose) 2 DIN head unit?
« on: May 01, 2018, 04:05:04 pm »
Short of removing mine and measuring it - does anyone know where I can find the dimensions of the GH model Bose Double DIN CD/head unit - primarily the length, or even the space (depth) available for fitting an after-market head unit?

Thanks.

Offline mac

  • S Class
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.5L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2009

Offline aeroadster

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Gender: Male
  • 6 SL estate
  • Colour: Stormy Blue Mica (35J) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.2L
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2009
Re: Dimensions of Mazda 6 GH (Bose) 2 DIN head unit?
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2018, 06:12:02 pm »
I bought a Scosche double din fascia unit in a silver grey colour that matches the same colour from my steering wheel.  It cost about $40 including shipping and taxes from the US.

It's a lot better than the others I've found in the UK and no where near as flimsy.

It's identical to this one.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/p/CT24MZ29-MAZDA-6-2009-2013-Car-Stereo-Fitting-Facia-Silver/1193616777?iid=332611154188
« Last Edit: May 02, 2018, 06:14:32 pm by aeroadster »

Offline vitesse

  • TS2 Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Colour: Aurora Blue (34J) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.5L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2008
Re: Dimensions of Mazda 6 GH (Bose) 2 DIN head unit?
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2018, 06:15:47 am »
I'm veering towards a dedicated unit (Eonon) now. But I'm interested in what head unit you went for?

Offline Cee-Jay-Cee

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Gender: Male
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Takuya
  • Year: 2010
Re: Dimensions of Mazda 6 GH (Bose) 2 DIN head unit?
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2018, 01:25:17 pm »
I replaced my original unit with an Ownice C500. there is more than enough room at the rear for wiring/cables associated with android/aftermarket headunits.

Offline vitesse

  • TS2 Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Colour: Aurora Blue (34J) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.5L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2008
Re: Dimensions of Mazda 6 GH (Bose) 2 DIN head unit?
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2018, 03:36:00 pm »
I replaced my original unit with an Ownice C500. there is more than enough room at the rear for wiring/cables associated with android/aftermarket headunits.

What was it like to fit? I've heard of issues getting 3rd party heads connected to the Bose amp?

Offline Cee-Jay-Cee

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Gender: Male
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Takuya
  • Year: 2010
Re: Dimensions of Mazda 6 GH (Bose) 2 DIN head unit?
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2018, 11:27:09 am »
Mine was non-Bose. I had no problems hooking up leads/connectors. The job is relatively straight forward, I now have the removal and re-fitting of the stereo down to 10 minutes. I was fitting a reversing camera, additional USB sockets and a microphone so the whole job took about 3 hrs including fitting the camera and routing the wiring/cables etc

I haven't heard of any problems with Bose connectors, theyre just a plug in connection so I cant see how there could be any difficulty with them.

The head unit I bought was also available with a Bose connector, I think it was simply an additional harness that slotted between the new headunit and the bose amp wiring connector.

Offline aeroadster

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Gender: Male
  • 6 SL estate
  • Colour: Stormy Blue Mica (35J) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.2L
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2009
Re: Dimensions of Mazda 6 GH (Bose) 2 DIN head unit?
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2018, 12:56:39 am »
Hi, I bought a Pioneer F70Dab unit.

I bought the corresponding Connects2 steering wheel kit and it works fine with Android Auto

At the time I looked at Android alternatives but I wasn't impressed with the start up times, occasional lag on the user interface, and in some cases loosing some of steering wheel button features.

If I were buying now I would seriously consider the 8inch or 10inch units from Xtrons that support split screen apps.  They start around £210 and go up to about £300.

In fact, I'm thinking of selling my Pioneer in a few weeks to go for the 10 inch version.

I saw a YouTube video where the reviewer said it looked ugly from the side as the 10" unit protrudes from the dash, but I'd rather have a big screen running fairly reliable and mature android apps as I'm planning on keeping my 6 GH SL for another three years until I can afford a used 2019 estate with a 2.5 Turbo petrol engine.